S’organisez

Routes au centre d’Héraklion

Des agglomérations construites dans des oliviers et des vignes, à côté de belles gorges, des sommets des montagnes imposants, des châteaux et des monastères historiques : l’arrière-pays de la Municipalité d’Héraklion vous révèle la terre crétoise dans toute sa splendeur…

 

add

Agios Vlasios

Village de "Pindangis" situé à 12,7 km de la ville d'Héraklion sur la route Héraklion - Fortetsa - Vassileies - Agios Vlassis. Il est construit sur les pentes ouest du mont sacré Yuhta à une altitude de 260 mètres.
add

Agios Myronas

Grand village de l’Entité Régionale d’Héraklion avec une histoire et tradition riche, il est construit sur les deux collines de l’ancienne Rafkos (une parmi les cent villes de l’Ekatompoli Crétois d’Homère) avec une vue panoramique par tous ses endroits. Il se trouve 18 kilomètres d’Héraklion et à 440 mètres d’altitude. Rafkos était une cité autonome et puissante, avec sa propre monnaie, membre de l’alliance de Gortyne et ennemi de Cnossos et de voisin Lykastos avec une longue histoire mouvementée. Le nom de la ville dérive de Myronas (3ème siècle), le martyre du village et l’évêque de Cnossos et Gortyne, qui a martyrisé pendant les persécutions de Dèce (249-251) et il est son saint patron.  
add

Agios Syllas

Célèbre village de la région “Parakandia” avec une histoire et une tradition riche. Il se trouve 14 kilomètres d’Héraklion et il est construit à 569 mètres d’altitude sur les bordures ouest de Mont Iouchtas, « assiégé » par de nombreux vignobles et oliveraies. La plupart des habitants du village actuel sont des réfugiés. Dans un document de 1305 où se trouve la plus ancienne référence au village, existent aussi les informations qu’il y a deux églises, une d’Agios Silas et une de Santa Maria, qui ont été détruites par le tremblement de terre de 1303 et ont été reconstruites par Rogerius de Rogerios avec l’aide des résidents.    
add

Ano Assites

Il s’agit d’un village de l’Entité Régionale d’Héraklion d’après le Programme “Kallikratis” avec un cadre naturel splendide, une histoire et une tradition marquante. Dans un document de 1393 on rencontre pour la première fois le nom du village et dans toutes les références sur la Crète à partir de 1577. L’étymologie du nom est des soldats Assinoi ou Assites (= c’est-à-dire par Assos, ville de Mysia) qui se sont installés dans la région après la reprise de Crète par Nicéphore II Phokas (961).
add

Avgeniki

Il s’agit d’un village magnifique et riche de l’Entité Régionale de la Municipalité d’Héraklion, construit à 310 mètres d’altitude et 20,7 kilomètres d’Héraklion sur l’axe routière de Mesaras – Phaistos. Il est mentionné pour la première fois sous le nom « Evgeniki » en 1391 dans un document du Registre Ducal et depuis 1577 il est dans tous les inventaires effectués en Crète. Depuis l’inventaire égyptienne (1834) et jusqu’à nos jours le village est mentionné comme Avgeniki.  
add

Venerato

Il s’agit de deux agglomérations (Vieux et Nouveau, à une distance de 200 mètres entre eux) qui se trouvent à environ 20 kilomètres d’Héraklion, sur l’ancienne route Mesaras – Phaistos, à 300 mètres d’altitude. La plus nouvelle agglomération a été construite après 1955 tandis que l’ancienne a été construite pendant l’occupation vénitienne. Le nom du vieux village est mentionné pour la première fois dans un document du Registre Ducal en 1369 et depuis cette date il est mentionné dans tous les inventaires subséquents jusqu’à nos jours.
add

Siva

Siva est un village et une Entité Régionale homonyme qui a été aussi intégré dans le territoire de l’Entité Régionale de la Municipalité d’Héraklion selon le programme “Kallikratis”. Il est construit à 280 mètres d’altitude et à 18,2 kilomètres de l’axe routière Héraklion – Mesaras. La plus ancienne inscription du nom du village se trouve dans un document du Registre Ducal de Chandakas de 1378. Ensuite il est mentionné dans toutes les inscriptions depuis 1577 et jusqu’à nos jours. La présence historique la plus importante du village dans le 19ème siècle (siècle des révolutions crétoises) est le capitaine Ainikoliotis (de l’agglomération d’Agios Nikolaos dans la région de Harakas) qui était particulièrement actif pendant la révolution de 1866.
add

Pyrgou

Un kilomètre au sud d’Agios Myronas se trouve l’agglomération Pyrgou, à 20 kilomètres d’Héraklion et à 400 mètres d’altitude, sur l’axe routière vers Assites. L’emplacement du village offre une vue excellente sur les montagnes de Krousonas et l’est de Psiloritis. Son nom est mentionné pour la première fois dans un document notarié de 1271 et depuis lors dans de nombreux documents et d’autres notaires et du Registre Ducal. Il est aussi enregistré dans tous les inventaires effectués en Crète depuis 1577 jusqu’à nos jours.
add

Profitis Ilias [Prophète Elie]

Il s’agit probablement de la plus grande ville de l’Entité Régionale de la Municipalité d’Héraklion selon le Programme Kallikratis, elle se trouve 19,4 kilomètres d’Héraklion et elle est construite au pied nord-ouest de la colline Rokka (altitude 507,40 mètres) à 350 mètres d’altitude. La richesse du bourg est correspondante à la richesse de l’histoire de Prophète Elie. On connait que la « capitale » de Crète a été choisi et construit ici après la reprise de l’ile par les Byzantines en 961, qui l’ont prise par les Sarrasins qui l’avait conquise (823 ou 828). Par conséquent, on peut dire avec certitude que l’emplacement « hébergeait » une agglomération pendant la Deuxième période byzantine.
add

Petrokefalo

Petrokefalo appartient à la Municipalité d’Héraklion de l’Entité Régionale d’Héraklion d’après la division administrative de la Grèce, telle que résulte par le Programme “Kallikratis”. Il se trouve au 16ème kilomètre de la route en direction d’Agios Myronas, à 340 mètres d’altitude. Le nom du village est mentionné pour la première fois dans des documents notariés du 13ème siècle et des documents suivants du Registre Ducal de Chandakas. Il est mentionné avec presque son nom actuel (Petrokefalo ou Petrokefala) dans tous les inventaires à partir de 1577 jusqu’aujourd’hui.  
add

Pentamodi

Il s’agit d’un trop vieux village de l’Entité Régionale de la Municipalité d’Héraklion selon le Programme “Kallikratis”, construit à 320 mètres d’altitude et à environ 17 kilomètres de la ville. Il est mentionné pour la première fois dans des documents notariés de 1271 et il est aussi mentionné souvent dans des contrats subséquents. Par ces contrats on apprend qu’en 1348 il était un fief d’infanterie et appartenait à l’avocat et poète Stefanos Sachlikis, qui l’a hérité de son père, où il y a vécu jusqu’à la fin de sa vie, après avoir dilapidé tous ses autres biens.
add

Kato Assites

De grands villages de l’Entité Régionale Municipale d’Héraklion, Kato Assites se trouve 22,8 kilomètres d’Héraklion et à 459 mètres d’altitude, au pied est de Mont Psiloritis. On peut atteindre le village en suivant la route Héraklion – Agios Myron – Pyrgou – Kato Assites. Le nom du village dérive de l’installation des soldats à Assos de Mysia qui servaient dans l’armée de Nicéphore II Phokas et qui se sont installés de façon permanente en Crète après sa reprise par les Byzantines en 961 et pour cette raison l’orthographe du nom est Assites et pas Asites.
add

Kerasia

Le village Kerasia est intégré dans la Municipalité d’Héraklion sous le Programme “Kallikratis” ; il se trouve à 20 kilomètres et à 340 mètres d’altitude. Il est construit sur les pentes orientales de la colline “Halepa”, donnant sur la “plaine Kerasanos”, les montagnes de Lassithi, l’historique Monastère Paliani et la colline « Kastella » avec sa chapelle d’Agios Panteleimon sur le sommet. La plus ancienne inscription du nom du village se trouve dans un document de 1248 et dans d’autres documents du Registre Ducal de Chandakas à partir de cette date. 
add

Kyparissi

Kyparissi est un village de l’Entité Régionale Municipale de la Municipalité d’Héraklion, à la province Temenos, à 220 mètres d’altitude et avec une belle vue, au 22ème kilomètre de l’axe routier vers Profitis Ilias. Les résidents s’occupent de la culture des olives et des vignes. Un tombeau de l’époque sub-néolithique a été découvert par hasard dans une cavité de rocher à une carrière, où ils ont trouvé des vases de décoration linéaire gravée, une figurine en forme de bateau, de nombreux petits couteaux d’obsidienne et d’autres objets de cuivre (notamment des scalpels) qui montrent la longue habitation du village.  Un grand bâtiment rectangulaire a été aussi découvert sur la colline « Korfi tou Vatheia ».  
add
anchor to top image

Plan HERe

Routes at the heartland of Heraklion

Small villages surrounded by olive groves and vineyards, next to superb gorges, imposing mountaintops, castles and historical monasteries. The heartland of Heraklion Municipality reveals the Cretan landscape in all its greatness…   


add

Agios Vlasios

Village of "Pindangis" located 12.7 km from the city of Heraklion on the Heraklion - Fortetsa - Vassileies - Agios Vlassis road. It is built on the western slopes of the sacred mount Yuhta at an altitude of 260 meters.
add

Agios Myronas

Main village of the Heraklion Municipal Unit with a rich past and tradition, built on top of the twin hills of ancient Rafkos (one of the 100 cities of the Cretan Ekatompolis [one hundred cities] in Homeric times). The entire village has panoramic views of the area and is located 18 kilometres from Heraklion at an altitude of 440 metres. The ancient city of Rafkos was an independent and powerful city-state with its own currency. It went through troubled times throughout its history and was a member of the Gortynian alliance and an enemy of Knossos and nearby Lykastos. The town is named after Myronas (3rd century) who was a local martyr and also the bishop of Knossos and Gortyna. He suffered during the persecutions of Christians by the Roman Emperor Decius (249 - 251). Agios Myronas (meaning Saint Myronas) is the village’s patron saint.      
add

Agios Syllas

It is a renowned village of the “Paracandia” area, with a long history and tradition. It is located 14 kilometres from the city of Heraklion and is built at the west base of Mount Giouhtas and at an altitude of 569 metres. The village features numerous vineyards and olive groves. Most of its current inhabitants are of refugee descent. The oldest mention of the village, in a document which dates back to 1305, informs us of the presence of two old temples, the temple of Agios Syllas (Agio Sila) and the temple of the Virgin Mary (Santa Maria), which had been destroyed during the 1303 earthquake and were subsequently rebuilt by Rogerius de Rogerios with the help of the villagers.  
add

Ano Asites

Village of the Heraklion Municipal Unit (according to the “Kallikratis” plan), located in a stunning lush area. The village has a great history and a rich tradition. The oldest mention of the village is in a document which dates back to 1393. The village is mentioned in all censuses carried out in Crete from 1577 onwards. Its name comes from the word Assinous or Asites (= from Assos, city of the region of Mysia), who were soldiers that settled in the area after the reconquest of Crete by Nikephoros Phokas (961).   
add

Avgeniki

It is a beautiful and prosperous village of the Municipal Region of Heraklion Municipality. It is built at an altitude of 310 metres and is located 20.7 kilometres from Heraklion on the road to Mesara - Phaistos. The oldest mention of the village under the name of Evgeniki is in a document of the Archivio del Duca (Duke’s Archives) dating back to 1391. The village is mentioned in all censuses carried out in Crete from 1577 onwards. From the Egyptian census (1834) onwards the village is called Avgeniki.        
add

Venerato

The village is actually two different villages (Old Venerato and New Venerato, which are just 200 metres away one from the other) located 20 kilometres from Heraklion on the old road connecting Mesara to Phaistos, at an altitude of 300 metres. The more recent village was created in 1955 and the older one during the Venetian occupation. The oldest mention of the old village is in a document of the Archivio del Duca (Duke’s Archives) dating back to 1369 and since then the village is mentioned in all censuses carried out in Crete.   
add

Siva

Siva is a village and a Municipal District (under the same name) which belongs to the Regional Municipal area of Heraklion Municipality according to the “Kallikratis” Plan. It is built at an altitude of 280 metres and is located 18.2 kilometres from the city of Heraklion on the road connecting Heraklion to Mesara. The oldest mention of the village is in a document dating back to 1378 of the Archivio del Duca (Duke’s Archives) of Khándax. The village is mentioned in all censuses carried out in Crete from 1577 onwards. The village’s most important historical figure of the 19th century (the century of the Cretan revolutions) was Captain Ainikoliotis (born in the hamlet of Agios Nikolaos, area of Harakas) who became known during the 1866 revolution.     
add

Pirgou

On the road to Asites, one kilometre south of Agios Myronas we find the hamlet of Pirgou, about 20 kilometres from Heraklion and at an altitude of 400 metres. The hamlet’s location provides magnificent views of the mountains of Krousonas and the eastern slopes of Psiloritis (Mount Ida). The oldest mention of the village is in a notarial document of 1271 and subsequently, the village was mentioned in many other notarial documents and in documents of the Archivio del Duca (Duke’s Archives). The village is mentioned in all censuses carried out in Crete from 1577 onwards.       
add

Profitis Ilias

It is perhaps the largest village of the Regional Unit of Heraklion Municipality (according to the “Kallikratis” Plan). It is located 19.4 kilometres from the city of Heraklion and is built at the northwest base of the Rocca hill (height: 507.40 metres) and at an altitude of 350 metres. Its wealth matches its rich past. We know for a fact that this area was chosen to build the “capital” of Crete following the Byzantine reconquest of the island in 961 from the Saracens who had previously conquered the island (823 or 828). Thus, it can be confirmed that the area “hosted” a small village during the second Byzantine period.    
add

Petrokefalo

Petrokefalo belongs to Heraklion Municipality of the Regional Unit of Heraklion according to the administrative division of Greece following the implementation of the “Kallikratis” Plan. It is located on the 16th kilometre of the road to Agios Myronas and at an altitude of 340 metres. The oldest mention of the village is in 13th century notarial documents and other subsequent documents of the Archivio del Duca (Duke’s Archives) of Khándax. The village is mentioned in all censuses carried out in Crete from 1577 onwards with its current name (Petrokefalo or Petrokefala).  
add

Pentamodi

A very old village of the Municipal Unit of Heraklion Municipality (according to the “Kallikratis” Plan) which is built at an altitude of 320 metres and about 17 kilometres from the city of Heraklion. The oldest mention of the village is in notarial documents of 1271. It is also mentioned in subsequent contracts. Those contracts reveal that in 1348 the village was an infantry fief which belonged to the lawyer and poet Stefanos Sahlikis who had inherited it from his father. The former lived there until his death after having squandered his entire fortune.    
add

Kato Asites

It is one of the main villages of the Heraklion Regional Municipal Unit. Kato Asites (Assites) is located 22.8 kilometres from the city of Heraklion, at an altitude of 459 metres and is built on the east base of Psiloritis (Mount Ida). To get to the village you need to follow the route Heraklion – Agios Myronas – Pyrgou – Kato Asites. Its name comes from the name of soldiers from the city of Assos of the region of Mysia, who served in Nikephoros Phokas’ army and settled in the area after the Byzantine reconquest of Crete in 961. Thus, the correct name of the village is Assites and not Asites.  
add

Kerasia

The village of Kerasia belongs to Heraklion Municipality (“Kallikratis” Plan) and is located 20 kilometres from the city of Heraklion and at an altitude of 340 metres. It is built on the eastern slopes of the Halepa hill and has great views of the Kerasanos plain, Mount Dikti, the historic Monastery of Paliani and the Kastella hill with Agios Panteleimonas (Saint Panteleimonas) chapel on its top. The oldest mention of the village is in a document of 1248 and subsequently, the village was mentioned in many other documents of the Archivio del Duca (Duke’s Archives).     
add

Kiparissi

Kiparissi is a village of the Regional Municipal Unit of the Municipality of Heraklion, located in the Temenos province (on the 22nd kilometre of the road to Profitis Ilias) and at an altitude of 220 metres. The village offers nice views of the area and its inhabitants work mainly in olive farming and viticulture. A tomb dating back to the first Subneolithic was accidentally discovered in a quarry inside a rock concavity. It contained many clay jars of engraved linear decoration, as well as a boat-shaped figurine, numerous small obsidian knives and various bronze objects (mainly small knives). This is proof that the area was inhabited during the Antiquity. Also, a large rectangular building was unearthed at the “Korfi tou Vatheia” hill.    
add
anchor to top image