S’organisez

Espaces des Évènements Culturels

Il y a de nombreux espaces dans la ville d’Héraklion qui peuvent héberger des évènements. Les principaux sont les suivants :
add

Oasis (Théâtre en Plein Air « N. Kazantzakis »)

L’espace d’Oasis est cette partie du fossé de la nouvelle fortification vénitienne qui correspond au Bastion Jésus. La place de Chypre qui est à 600 mètres du centre de la ville est construite à l’est de l’entrée de l’espace. L’espace d’Oasis a ouvert ses portes pour la première fois comme un petit espace théâtral pendant l’occupation allemande, après avoir coupé plusieurs pins. Ensuite, jusqu’en 1963, de nombreux rassemblements en plein air, surtout politiques, y ont été organisés. En 1963 ils ont tenu la première tentative sérieuse pour le mettre en valeur comme théâtre d’été, qui a été maintenu jusqu’en 1976. En 1976 -le théâtre a été construit avec sa forme actuelle. Il a été transformé en un espace théâtrale ouvert de 1200 places environ avec tous les espaces nécessaires (principaux et auxiliaires). 
add

Station de Théâtre

Sur la route côtière du port ils y avaient deux grands dépôts du Caisse Portuaire d’Héraklion. Le dépôt à l’est a été offert à la Municipalité d’Héraklion pour la création d’une petite station de théâtre. Ce dépôt est construit en pierre avec un toit en bois de tuiles à deux versants, d’espace environ 680 m2 et une forme presque rectangulaire. L’étude pour sa configuration, qui a été commencée en 1986, prévoyait une série d’opérations pour l’entretien de l’édifice et sa transformation en une espace appropriée à répondre aux besoins d’une station de théâtre sans découvertes architecturales excentriques, afin de sauvegarder le style extérieur du bâtiment. Après la fin des travaux en 1989, à part des performances théâtrales, de nombreux autres évènements culturels y ont eu lieu, comme par exemple des concerts, des discours, des conférences etc.
add

« Multicentre de Jeunesse Μ.Η.

La nécessite pour la possibilité d’expression, d’intervention et de création par les jeunes de notre ville a été l’inspiration pour la construction du Multicentre de Jeunesse M.H. – art café. Il s’agit d’un lieu d’expression et de création où les jeunes peuvent discuter, programmer et organiser. Le Multicentre de Jeunesse M.H. art café encourage, accueille et met en valeur des actions culturelles des jeunes. La salle centrale a une petite scène théâtrale avec des installations sonores et des systèmes d’éclairage pour le soutien des évènements et aussi un patio excellent et idéale pour tous qui recherchent un endroit tranquille, élégant et ouvert. Le Multicentre de Jeunesse M.H. – art café offre aussi à des prix abordables des cafés, des boissons gazeuses, des snacks et des boissons. Enfin, le Multicentre offre d’accès gratuit à l’internet et des ordinateurs publics.   Heures d’ouverture : 8.00-00.00 du lundi au samedi  Endroit : 4, rue Androgeo, Héraklion, Crète Tél. : 2813409211, direction / 2813409212, secrétariat/ 2813409210, cantine  
add

CENTRE CULTUREL

La charte culturelle de la Municipalité se modifie et l’environnement de l’art s’améliore avec la construction et la réalisation du Centre Culturel de Congrès d’Héraklion (P.S.K.H.).

PSKH est une pierre milliaire pour la cité d’Héraklion. Il se compose de multiples groupements de 5 immeubles et son but est de constituer un centre d’hébergement et de production de civilisation et d’art. Les installations des immeubles sont déjà utilisées et sont disponibles pour location par tous qui souhaitent organiser un événement. Après l’achèvement du projet une gestion globale aura lieu, d’après une étude qui a été déjà menée.

 

add

Petit Théâtre en Plein Air « Manos Hatzidakis »

Derrière le grand théâtre, sur la place de la Porte Jésus, en 1980 et sur la proposition de Manos Hatzidakis et les plans de Dionysis Fotopoulos, le Petit Théâtre en Plein Air, qui a été récemment nommé d’après le compositeur célèbre a été formé. Il s’agit d’une construction transportable pour éviter tout dommage aux murs vénitiens, qui ont été répertoriés. Dans le Petit Théâtre (de 400 – 450 places), comme dans le Grand Théâtre, plusieurs évènements importants ont eu lieu du « Août de la Musique » et de l’institution “Héraklion – Été”. En 2011, il a été complètement renouvelé et son entrée est maintenant située sur la rue Plastira.  
add

Le Multi-espace de l’ « Ancien Marché aux Légumes”

Le nouveau Multi-espace de l’ « Ancien Marché aux Légumes » se trouve sur l’Avenue côtière Sofoklis Venizelos (en face du Musée d’Histoire Naturelle). Cet espace, d’une superficie totale de 4.400 m2 inclut, sauf - la Salle Polyvalente – des Événements (environ pour 200 personnes), une branche du Multicentre de Jeunesse (bistro et cybercafé), le Service d’Emploi et le Service des Programmes Européens de la Municipalité d’Héraklion. De plus, dans le même espace il y a aussi une Gare de Parking Souterraine à deux (2) étages et avec 131 emplacements, sur le toit duquel un espace commun a été créé.
add

Le Cinéma Municipal “Bethléem”

Le Cinéma Municipal a commencé ses activités en 2007 et il est situé sur la place basse du sud-est du bastion « Bethléem » des murs vénitiens. Parmi les projections du Cinéma Municipal sont des avant-premières, des films de court métrage, des films pour les enfants, des films plus anciens, ainsi que des hommages. En outre, autres événements, cinématographiques ou non, ont lieu dans le cinéma.
add

La Porte de Saint Georges

La Porte de Saint Georges est dédiée au Saint militaire homonyme qui a été illustré clairement comme chevalier, dans une forme de médaille, sous la partie centrale de son entrée. Il a été retrouvé à peu près dans la même position où se trouve le buste de N. Kazantzakis. On rencontre la même Porte aussi avec le nom Porte de Lazareto (c’est-à-dire la porte donnant à la station de quarantaine) ou de Maroula (porte qui donnait à la banlieue homonyme). Il était une des trois portes terrestres de l’enceinte fortifie vénitien de caractère militaire et politique. À travers cette porte - la population et les marchandises de la ville et par la ville ont été transportés pour les provinces orientales. À nos jours l’espace, équipé de manière adéquate, est utilisé pour des expositions ou autres événements culturels. 
add

Le Palais Municipal de la rue Androgeo

Le Palais municipal de la rue Androgeo est une construction moderne, qui a été terminée en 1992. Il s’agit d’un immeuble de cinq étages, avec deux sous-sols et d’opération mixte. Le terrain de l’immeuble confine au sud avec un des plus importants monuments de la cité, la Basilique Saint-Marc. Au rez-de-chaussée de l’immeuble il –y a une grande salle qui fonctionne comme -Multicentre de Jeunesse, où fréquentent tous les jours les jeunes de la ville qui suivent ou participant à de différents évènements y organisés. En même temps, dans le même espace il existe une installation d’Ordinateurs, où les jeunes peuvent -accéder gratuitement à l’internet. Au deuxième étage il a été créé une salle polyvalente, équipée des moyens modernes, appropriée aux conférences, séminaires, projections cinématographiques et autres évènements. Finalement, dans les autres étages de l’immeuble sont logés de différents Services de la Municipalité d’Héraklion.  
add
anchor to top image

Plan HERe

Cultural Event Venues

 The city of Heraklion has numerous venues which host various events. The following list includes the most important of them:  
add

Oasis (“N. Kazantzakis” open-air Garden Theatre)

Oasis covers the part of the trench of the new Venetian fortification which corresponds to the Bastion of Jesus.  To the east of its entrance there is Kypros (Cyprus) Square some 600 metres from the city centre. It was inaugurated as a small theatre during the German Occupation following the cutting-down of several pine trees. Then, until 1963, Oasis hosted many open-air events, mainly political rallies. In 1963, an attempt was made to use the area as an open-air theatre and this lasted until 1976. In 1976 the theatre in its current form was created. It is a modern open-air theatre of 1200 seats with all the required (main and auxiliary) equipment and spaces. 
add

Heraklion Theatre Station

On the coastal road next to the port two large warehouses were found that belonged to the Heraklion Port Treasury. One of them was given to Heraklion Municipality for the creation of a small theatre station. It an almost rectangular-shaped, stone-built warehouse, of approximately 680 m2 and has a pitched tiled roof. The technical study, which began in 1986, included a set of maintenance works aiming at rendering the warehouse suitable for housing a theatre station while preserving the original architectural style of the building.    Since the completion of works in 1989, the Theatre Station has hosted theatrical performances and numerous cultural events, such as concerts, speeches, conferences etc.       
add

HERAKLION MUNICIPALITY YOUTH CENTRE

The youth of our city were looking for ways to express themselves, to get involved and to create. This was the inspiration behind the creation of the Heraklion Municipality Youth Centre – art café. It is a place of expression and creation, where young people can talk, make programmes and plans. The Heraklion Municipality Youth Centre – art café encourages, hosts and promotes cultural activities of our city’s youth. The main hall features a small stage with sound and lighting systems to support events and also a superb patio for those looking for a quite, elegant and open space.    The Heraklion Municipality Youth Centre – art café serves coffee, refreshments, snacks and drinks at very affordable prices. Finally, the Youth Centre offers free internet access and shared personal computers.   Opening hours: 08:00-00:00 Monday to Saturday Address: 4, Androgeo Street, Heraklion Crete  Contact numbers: (+30) 2813409211, administration / (+30) 2813409212, secretariat / (+30) 2813409210, canteen-cafeteria     
add

HERAKLION CULTURAL AND CONFERENCE CENTRE

The cultural map of Heraklion is upgraded with enhanced art-related content due to the construction and completion of the Heraklion Cultural and Conference Centre. It is an emblematic building of the city of Heraklion, comprising a complex of 5 buildings, whose purpose is to serve as hub of culture and arts. The buildings are already operating and they are available for lease to anyone wishing to organise an event. Following the project’s completion, a more integrated management policy will be implemented according to a study that has already been carried out.

add

Manos Hatzidakis Small open-air Garden Theatre

In 1980, following a proposal by Manos Hatzidakis and according to the designs by Dionysis Fotopoulos, a Small open-air Garden Theatre was built, right behind the large open-air garden theatre, at the piazza bassa (lit. "Low square") of the Gate of Jesus. It was recently named after the great Greek composer. It is a prefabricated construction which causes no damage to the Venetian Walls (characterised as a listed monument). Many important events of “Musical August” and “Heraklion - Summer” have taken place at both the Small open-air Garden Theatre (400 - 450 seats) and the large one.   In the summer of 2011 the theatre underwent full refurbishment and its current entrance is located on Plastiras Street.      
add

Old Fruit & Vegetable - Market multi-purpose venue

The new “Old Fruit & Vegetable Market” multi-purpose venue is located on the coastal Sophocles Venizelos Avenue (opposite the Natural History museum). Apart from the Multi-Purpose Hall (approximate capacity 200 people), the 4,400 m2 area includes a section of the Heraklion Municipality Youth Centre (coffee-bar and Internet Café), the Employment Bureau and the Heraklion Municipality EU Programmes Office. There is also a two-level Underground Car Park (capacity 131 parking spaces) which features a public space on its roof.    
add

“Bethlehem” Municipal Cinema

The Municipal Cinema opened in 2007 and is located at the south-eastern piazza bassa (lit. "Low square") of the Bethlehem Bastion within the Venetian Walls. It features newly-released movies, short films, children’s films, previous years’ releases and various tributes. The cinema also hosts other cinematographic and non-cinematographic events.   
add

Agios Georgios Gate

Agios Georgios Gate has taken its name from Agios Georgios (Saint George), the soldier-saint, who was portrayed on horseback in a medallion-shaped bas-relief which occupied the central part of its entrance. It was located almost at the same spot which is currently occupied by the bust of Nikos Kazantzakis. The Gate is also known as the Lazaretto Gate (that is, the gate leading to the Lazaretto [hospital for those with infectious diseases]) or Maroulas Gate (that is, the gate leading to the neighbourhood of Maroulas). It was one of the three landward gates of the Venetian defensive enceinte and served both military and non-military purposes. It was both an entry point and an exit point to the eastern suburbs for the population of Heraklion and for goods. It is currently used for exhibitions or other cultural events.
add

Androgeo Street Municipal Building

The Androgeo Street Municipal Building is a modern building whose construction was finalised in 1992. It is a five-storey multi-purpose structure with two basements. Its south side borders one of the most important monuments of Heraklion, the Saint Mark’s Basilica.  A large hall in the ground floor operates as a Youth Centre. It is a meeting point for young people who also attend or participate in various events that take place. There are also personal computers available and Internet access is free. A special multi-purpose hall, with state-of-the-art equipment, is located on the 2nd floor. It is suitable for lectures, seminars, film screenings and other events. Finally, the other floors house various Services of the Heraklion Municipality. 
add
anchor to top image