S’organisez

Érotocritos & Aretoussa

La sculpture en bronze d’Érotocritos et d’Aretoussa sur la place Kornaros est un hommage à un des plus grands poèmes de la littérature européenne moderne et peut-être le poème le plus important de la littérature crétoise de l’occupation vénitienne, l’« Érotocritos » de Vitsentzos Kornaros. Le poème a été écrit au 17ème siècle et il se compose de 10 012 vers iambiques de quinze syllabes, avec rime, dans le dialecte crétois. L’Érotocritos est un œuvre intemporel qui parle de l’amour, l’honneur, l’amitié, la foi et le courage et il fait partie intégrante de la tradition locale. Il a été mis en musique par Hristodoulos Halaris et il a été chanté par de nombreux artistes importants, comme par exemple Nikos Xylouris. Sculpteur : Gian. Parmakelis Position : Place Kornaros
add

Eleftherios Venizelos

La statue d’Eleftherios Venizelos se trouve bien en vue sur le bastion Vitturi, et donne sur la mer et le port commercial de la cité. Eleftherios K. Venizelos, né le 23 août 1864 à Mournies et décédé le 18 mars 1936 à Paris, était un homme politique grec qui était le premier ministre de la Crète autonome et sept fois élu le premier ministre de la Grèce. Il a joué un rôle important à la Question Crétoise, ainsi qu’à la politique de la Grèce depuis 1910 jusqu’à sa mort. Il a organisé la Révolution à Terrissons et en 1910 il a pris ses fonctions de premier ministre de la Crète, mais il a abandonné un peu plus tard pour devenir le premier ministre de la Grèce, après avoir été invité par les officiers militaires. Comme premier ministre il a introduit des reformes presque dans tous les domaines, ayant comme but principal l’organisation du pays dans les normes de l’état civil. Sculpteur : Giannis Pappas, Architecte : N. Hatzimichalis Position : En face de la place Eleftherias (de Liberté) (Trois Arches)
add

Soldat Inconnu

La sculpture se trouve sur la place Eleftherias (de Liberté) et rend hommage aux milliers des protagonistes anonymes des évènements historiques et aux défenseurs de la liberté ; à tous ceux que les villes modernes ont l’habitude d’honorer au nom du Soldat Inconnu, en érigeant des monuments respectifs. Aux anniversaires et aux fêtes nationales, les officiels et le peuple déposent des gerbes et des fleurs dans leur mémoire, qui reste vivante dans les âmes des gens. Position : Place Eleftherias (de la Liberté)
add

Bataille de Crète

La sculpture est située à l’est du parc Georgiadis et représente la résistance courageuse du peuple crétois contre les envahisseurs allemands à la Bataille de Crète le 20 mai 1941, un des évènements majeurs de la Deuxième Guerre Mondiale. Les dirigeants militaires allemands avaient décidé des opérations contre la Crète et avaient préparé le plan de bataille « Merkur » (Mercure) qui s’appuyait sur l’usage des forces spéciales aériennes des parachutistes. Le plan a été préparé par le chef de l’armée de l’air allemande Göring et le chef-adjoint Student. La défense de la Crète a été préparée par les soldats anglais, néo-zélandais et australiens. Enfin, le 27 mai 1941, la Canée et Réthymnon ont été occupés et Héraklion le 30 mai. La Municipalité d’Héraklion a érigé ce monument brillant pour honorer la résistance héroïque des habitants. Sculpteur : G. Kanakakis Position : Avenue Dimokratias (de la République), à l’est du parc Georgiadis
add

Le Greco Dominikos Theotokopoulos

a sculpture se trouve dans le parc Theotokopoulos et représente un parmi les peintres les plus célèbres dans le monde entier, Dominikos Theotokopoulos, né à Héraklion, en Crète. Dominikos Theotokopoulos, aussi connu comme « Le Greco », est né à Héraklion en 1541 et a décédé à Toledo, Espagne en 1614. Il a suivi ses premiers cours à l’École Artistique et Grammaire de St. Catherine. En 1566, il voyage à Venise pour approfondir davantage aux mouvements de la Renaissance italique. Là, il trouve un emploi au laboratoire de Titien et reste près de lui pour 4 ans, en s’engageant en même temps avec la Sculpture. Ensuite, il voyage à Rome, où il prend le nom « Le Greco ». En 1575, il arrive en Espagne (à Madrid) et en 1577 à Toledo.

add

Minas Georgiadis

Minas Georgiadis est entrée dans l’histoire pour son action de résistance pendant l’occupation allemande. Il est né à Héraklion et il était célèbre pour son intégrité, son honnêteté et son dynamisme. D’ailleurs pour ces caractéristiques il a été honoré par les habitants d’Héraklion, qui l’ont élu Maire en 1934. Pendant la dictature de Metaxas (1936) il a été exilé à Athènes. Pendant l’occupation allemande il a été arrêté pour son action de résistance, il a été emprisonné et torturé ; plus tard, il a été exécuté à Gazi (le 2 juin 1942) avec 62 autres martyrs. La cité d’Héraklion a honoré sa mémoire en se dressant son buste dans un parc, nommé d’après lui (parc Georgiadis). Position : Parc Georgiadis
add

Daskalogiannis

La sculpture représente Ioannis Vlahos, aussi connu comme « Daskalogiannis », pour son éducation éminente. Il est né à Anopoli de Sfakia (1722). Son vrai nom était Ioannis Vlahos. Il était un ami personnel de la famille Benakis de Mani et de l’amiral russe Orlov. Il a voyagé en Russie d’où il a transporté des armes pour la révolution qui a suivi. Chef de 1300 habitants de Sfakia, il a déclaré la révolution à Sfakia en 1769. La révolution avait eu de succès, Daskalogiannis a combattu avec tant de courage, mais quand la situation n’allait pas bien, il s’est rendu par peur de représailles pour ses compatriotes.

add

LA DANSEUSE

La sculpture “La danseuse”, construite par Man. Tzobanakis se trouve au parc Theotokopoulos et représente une femme qui danse.

Artiste : Man. Tzobanakis

Position : Parc Theotokopoulos

add

Année après Année

La sculpture “Année après Année”, œuvre de Manolis Harkoutsis, dans le cadre de la campagne des associations culturelles en collaboration avec l’Établissement d’Enseignement Technologique de Crète pour le sauvetage et la promotion des oliviers anciens de l’ile.

Artiste : Manolis Harkoutsis

Position : Cour du Musée d’Histoire Naturelle de Crète (position temporaire)

 

add

Mère

Il s’agit d’une œuvre dédiée à la personne préférée parmi toutes les personnes du monde, la Mère ! Il est situé sur la Place Faneromeni (en face du Centre Culturel d’Héraklion).

Artiste : Tzobanakis Emmanouil

Position : Place Faneromeni (en face du Centre Culturel d’Héraklion)

add

Venus

Il s’agit d’une œuvre en marbre de Gortyne, intitulé « Venus » du sculpteur italien Alessio Ranaldi. Elle est installée sur la Front de Mer Ouest d’Héraklion. Symposium de Sculpture International 2014, Venerato, organisé par la municipalité d’Héraklion. Le symposium a été dédié au fameux peintre crétois Dominikos Theotokopoulos.

add

Harmonie Olympique

La sculpture « Harmonie Olympique » se trouve dans le parc à côté de la gare routière et elle a été installée dans cet espace au mois d’août 2002 au vu des Jeux Olympiques de 2004.

add

Fontaine de charité sur la Place Kornaros

L’importance particulière de l’eau dans la religion musulmane a conduit en 1776 un résident riche de la ville, Hatzi Ibrahim Aga, de construire une fontaine de charité, un sébil. Ainsi, comme la région la plus large était un quartier musulman, des cafés ont été construits autour de la fontaine, qui constituaient, en combinaison avec le voisin Mosquée Valide, un lieu de réunion des fidèles, spécialement pendant le ramadan. Le petit bâtiment rond était entouré par des fenêtres semi-circulaires, sous lesquelles il y avait des fontaines analogues, tandis qu’en haut, sur un côté, il y avait une inscription en écriture turque ancienne, où il est signalé que « l’eau est la source de tous ».
add

Fontaine d’Idoménée

Elle a été construite vers la fin du 17ème siècle. À nos jours elle est derrière le Musée Historique de la cité. La fontaine est décorée par deux colonnes avec chapiteaux de décoration végétale et au milieu de ces colonnes et dans une construction en arc se trouve une tablette en marbre avec de décoration en relief. L’eau coulait dans un bassin de marbre par un trou de forme appropriée sur la partie inférieure de la tablette.
add

Fontaine de Haniali

La fontaine de Haniali se trouve à côté de la porte extérieure de Saint Georges, au-dessous de la statue d’Eleftherios Venizelos. Sa partie supérieure est décorée avec une décoration végétale et son robinet se trouve dans un cadre en relief décoré. L’eau était recueillie dans un bassin en marbre avec une décoration similaire en relief.
add

Fontaine de Yenicar Aga

À nos jours se trouve sur l’avenue Ikarou, à côté de la Collection Épigraphique. Dans une construction en arc, entourée par deux grandes arches décorées avec rosettes, il y a un robinet en relief, joliment décoré.  
add

Fontaine Sagredo

Elle a été construite par Giovanni Sagredo entre 1602-1604. Une partie de la fontaine a été incorporée dans le côté nord-ouest de la Loggia actuelle et elle est décorée avec une statue sculptée d’une femme qui, selon la description de Gerola, portait un bouclier probablement avec sa main gauche, tandis qu’avec la main droite un marteau de forgeron (grand marteau) pour démonstration et elle représentait peut-être la personnification de Crète.  
add

Fontaine Μοrosini (Lions)

Parmi les fontaines les plus célèbres d’Héraklion, point de référence pour les habitants et aussi les visiteurs, elle est aujourd’hui un des plus beaux monuments de la ville. Elle a été construite par le gouverneur général Francesco Morosini en 1628, qui a réussi à apporter de l’eau à la ville assoiffée de Chandakas par les sources d’Archanes à travers un système de canalisation complexe pour cette époque. La citerne à huit lobes, appuyée sur une plateforme spéciale est décorée avec des motifs mythologiques en relief et des formes maritimes, comme par exemple des tritons, des dauphins et des blasons différents, et l’eau coulait à travers la bouche de quatre lions. Au sommet de la fontaine dominait une statue surnaturelle de Poséidon, qui s’est effondrée, probablement à cause d’un tremblement de terre. Pendant l’occupation ottomane la fontaine a subi une formation disgracieuse avec l’emplacement d’un couvercle circonférentiel autour de la fontaine, qui a été néanmoins retiré plus tard.  
add

Fontaine Priuli

Elle est construite par le gouverneur général Antonio Priuli en 1666. Aujourd’hui elle se trouve derrière l’École Primaire Bodosakeio (dans la région de la Porte Dermata). Elle a été décorée avec des colonnes et des arches, avec des chapiteaux de style corinthien et toute la construction est couronnée par un fronton triangulaire. Sur les deux côtés des colonnes des niches sont créées, les métopes desquelles sont joliment décorées. Au milieu de la fontaine il y a une inscription turque où il est mentionné le nom du pacha qui a réussi de rapporter de l’eau à la fontaine.
add

Fontaine Bembo

Au milieu du 16ème siècle, le commandant militaire de Candie, Gianmatteo Bembo a construit un aqueduc pour l’approvisionnement de la ville en eau minérale. La fontaine, nommée après lui, appartenait au Temple du Sauveur (San Salvatore) et elle a été décorée avec une statue de l’époque romaine, des colonnes de marbre et des blasons des officiers vénitiens ; le bassin de l’eau est aussi de l’époque romaine. Pendant la période ottomane, la fontaine a continué d’être utilisée et elle était au service des musulmans qui voulaient se purifier avant d’entrer au Mosquée Valide, comme il s’appelait le temple du Sauveur après sa conversion.  
add
anchor to top image

Plan HERe

Erotokritos & Aretousa

The bronze sculpture of Erotokritos and Aretousa, located in Kornarou Square, pays tribute to one of the greatest poems of new European literature and perhaps the masterpiece of Cretan literature during Venetian domination, "Erotokritos" by Vitsentzos Kornaros. It was written in  the 17th century and it consists of 10,012 rhyming verses in the fifteen-syllable iambic line written in the Cretan dialect. Erotokritos is a timeless masterpiece about love, honour, friendship, faith and bravery and it is an integral part of local tradition. Christodoulos Halaris has composed music for the poem and it has been sung by a plethora of important artists such as Nikos Xilouris.

add

Eleftherios Venizelos

The statue of Eleftherios Venizelos stands in a prominent location at the Vitturi Bastion, overlooking the sea and the commercial port of the city. Eleftherios K. Venizelos (born in the village of Mournies, prefecture of Chania on August 23, 1864 and died in Paris on March 18, 1936) was a Greek politician who served as Prime Minister of the Cretan State and seven times Prime Minister of Greece. His role in the Cretan Issue was crucial and his actions left their mark on the political events in Greece from 1910 until his death. He organized the Therissos Revolt and in 1910 he was named Prime Minister of the Cretan State. A few months later, following an invitation by the Military League, he resigned in order to serve as Prime Minister of Greece. He brought about many reforms in almost all sectors, aiming at organizing the country to become a civil state.     Artist: Giannis Pappas, Architect: N. Hatzimichalis Location: Opposite Eleftherias Square (Treis Kamares)
add

Unknown Soldier

The sculpture is located in Eleftherias Square in dedication to the services of the thousands of anonymous protagonists of historical events and defenders of freedom. Most modern states honour them by placing a monument commemorating the Unknown Soldier. On National Days and National Holidays, state officials and people lay wreaths and flowers in their memory.  Location: Eleftherias Square 
add

Battle of Crete

The sculpture is located on the east side of Georgiadis Park and represents the brave resistance of the Cretan people against the German invaders during the Battle of Crete on May 20, 1941, considered as one of the most important events of WWII. The German military leadership had decided to attack Crete (an operation codenamed Unternehmen Merkur, "Operation Mercury”) with its elite paratrooper units. The plan had been prepared by the Commander in Chief of the Luftwaffe Hermann Göring and the Vice-Commander in Chief Kurt Student. English, New Zealand and Australian soldiers defended the island. Eventually on May 27, 1941 Chania and Rethymnon were captured and on May 30 the city of Heraklion fell into enemy hands. Heraklion Municipality placed this brilliant monument to honour the heroic resistance of the island's inhabitants.   Artist: Giannis Kanakakis Location: Dimokratias Avenue, East side of Georgiadis Park 
add

El Greco (Doménikos Theotokópoulos)

The sculpture is located in Theotokopoulou Park and represents one of the most important painters of all times, Doménikos Theotokópoulos. Also known as “El Greco”, Doménikos Theotokópoulos was born in Heraklion in 1541 and died in Toledo, Spain, in 1614. He took his first lessons at the Artistic and Grammar School of Saint Catherine. In 1566 he went to Venice, in an effort to broaden his knowledge on the artistic currents of the Italian Renaissance. He started working in Titian's atelier where he stayed for four years working also on Sculpture. He then went to Rome, where he was first nicknamed El Greco.

add

Minas Georgiadis

Minas Georgiadis earned his place in history for his struggle during the Greek Resistance against the Germans. Born in Heraklion, he was known for his integrity, honesty and dynamism. As a result, he was honoured by the people of Heraklion who elected him Mayor in 1934. During the Metaxas Dictatorship (1936) he was exiled to Athens. During the German occupation, he was arrested, jailed and tortured. After a short while he was executed in Gazi (June 2, 1942) along with the 62 Martyrs. The city of Heraklion, in honour to his memory, placed a marble bust of him in a park that is named after him as well (Georgiadis Park).  Location: Georgiadis Park
add

Daskalogiannis

The sculpture depicts Ioannis Vlachos, nicknamed "Daskalogiannis" for his great education. He was born in Anopoli of Sfakia (1722). His real name was Ioannis Vlachos. He was a close personal friend of the Benakis family from Mani and of the Russian Admiral Orlov. He travelled to Russia from where he brought weapons for the revolution that followed. Leading a group of 1,300 rebels from the area of Sfakia, he launched the Revolution in Sfakia in 1769. The revolution was a success and Daskalogiannis fought bravely, but when things got difficult, he turned himself in, in order to avoid retaliation against his compatriots. He was transferred and imprisoned in Koules, Heraklion.

add

THE DANCER

The sculpture entitled “The Dancer” was created by Man. Tzompanakis and is located in Theotokopoulou Park. It portrays a woman who is dancing. 

Artist: Manolis Tzompanakis

Location: Theotokopoulou Park

 

add

As years go by

The sculpture “As years go by” (Χρόνο με το Χρόνο) is a creation by Manolis Harkoutsis under the campaign to save and promote the ancient olive trees of Crete launched by the Technological Educational Institute of Crete and various cultural associations.

Artist: Manolis Harkoutsis

Location: Forecourt of the Natural History Museum of Crete (temporary location)

 

add

Mother

A sculpture dedicated to the dearest of all creatures, the Mother! It is located in Faneromeni Square (opposite Heraklion Cultural and Conference Centre).  

Artist:  Tzompanakis Emmanouil

Location: Faneromeni Square (opposite Heraklion Cultural and Conference Centre)

 

add

«Venus»

It is a Gortynian marble sculpture by Italian artist Alessio Ranaldi located on the western seafront of Heraklion (2014 International Sculpture Symposium, village of Venerato. Organised by Heraklion Municipality). The symposium was dedicated to the great Cretan painter Doménikos Theotokópoulos.     Title: “Venus” Artist:  Alessio Ranaldi Location: Heraklion western seafront   http://www.heraklionsculptures.gr/venus-%ce%b4%ce%b9%ce%b5%ce%b8%ce%bd%ce%ad%cf%82-%cf%83%cf%85%ce%bc%cf%80%cf%8c%cf%83%ce%b9%ce%bf-%ce%b3%ce%bb%cf%85%cf%80%cf%84%ce%b9%ce%ba%ce%ae%cf%82-2014/
add

Olympic Harmony

The sculpture “Olympic Harmony” is located in the park next to the bus station (KTEL). It was unveiled in August 2002 to celebrate the 2004 Olympic Games held in Athens.    Artist: Manolis Aggelidakis Location: In the park next to the bus station (KTEL)   http://www.heraklionsculptures.gr/%ce%bf%ce%bb%cf%85%c2%b5%cf%80%ce%b9%ce%b1%ce%ba%ce%ae-%ce%b1%cf%81%c2%b5%ce%bf%ce%bd%ce%af%ce%b1/  
add

Kornarou Square Sebil (Charity Fountain)

Back in 1776, it was the particular importance attributed to water by Islam that prompted Haci Ibrahim Agha, a wealthy citizen of Heraklion, to build a sebil (charity fountain). Being a Muslim neighbourhood, the area next to the fountain soon attracted many cafés which became the meeting point for worshippers, especially during the Ramadan, along with the nearby Valide Mosque. All semicircular windows of the small round building had a fountain below them and an inscription (written in old Ottoman) on the upper part of one of the walls reminded that “water if the source of everything”.     
add

Idomeneus Fountain

It was built in the late 17th century and is currently located behind the city’s Historical Museum. The fountain is highlighted by two columns with capitals featuring flora-themed decorative elements. In their middle and within an arch-like structure we find a marble bas-relief plaque. Water streamed from an opening underneath the plaque and into a marble bowl.       
add

Hanialis Fountain

Hanialis Fountain is located next to the outer part of Agios Georgios Gate below the statue of Eleftherios Venizelos. Its top features flora-themed decorative elements and its tap lies within a marble bas-relief frame. The water streamed into a marble bowl featuring similar decorative elements.   
add

Genitsar Agha Fountain

It is currently located on Ikarou Avenue, next to the Inscriptions Collection. An elaborate tap is located within an arch-like structure surrounded by two large semi-columns decorated with rosettes.    
add

Sagredo Fountain

It was built by Giovanni Sagredo between 1602 and 1604. Part of the fountain has been walled in the northwest side of the Loggia and is decorated with a statue of a woman figure, which, according to Gerola’s description, was quite possibly holding a shield with her left hand and a kind of sledgehammer (large hammer) with the her right hand. It is thought that it was an impersonation of Crete.     
add

Μοrosini Fountain (Lions Square)

One of the most famous fountains of Heraklion and a reference point for both its residents and visitors, Morosini Fountain is currently one of the most beautiful monuments of the city. It was built by the Provveditore Generale Francesco Morosini in 1628, who, using a rather complex - at the time - pipeline system, managed to bring water from the springs of Archanes to the thirsty city of Khándax. The octalobe cistern was placed on a special base and was decorated with bas-relief mythological representations and sea creatures, such as mermen, dolphins, and various coats of arms, while water was pouring from the mouths of the four lions. The top of the fountain was dominated by a supernatural statue of Poseidon, which, however, collapsed, probably during an earthquake. During Ottoman rule, the fountain underwent a rather poor re-configuration and a cage-like structure was placed around it which was subsequently removed.    
add

Priuli Fountain

It was built by the Provveditore Generale Antonio Priuli in 1666 and it is currently located behind the Bodosakeio Primary School (area of Dermatas Gate). It is decorated with columns and semi-columns, with Corinthian capitals, while the whole structure is crowned with a triangular pediment. Both sides of the columns feature alcoves whose metopes are elaborately decorated. In the middle of the fountain there is an inscription in Turkish of the name of the Pasha who managed to bring water back to the fountain.  
add

Bembo Fountain

In the mid-16th century, Candia's military commander, Gianmatteo Bembo, built an aqueduct to supply the city with spring water. The fountain, which was named after him, belonged to the nearby temple of San Salvatore and is decorated with a statue of the Roman period, marble columns and the coats of arms of Venetian officials while the bowl into which the water pours is also from the Roman period. During Ottoman rule, the fountain remained in use and served those Muslims who wanted to be purified before entering the Valide Mosque, which was the name that had been given to the temple of San Salvatore at that time.   
add

Sempil Ibrahim Aga

Η ιδιαίτερη σημασία που η μουσουλμανική θρησκεία αποδίδει στο νερό, ώθησε στα 1776 έναν πλούσιο κάτοικο της πόλης, τον Χατζή Ιμπραήμ Αγά, να κατασκευάσει μια φιλανθρωπική κρήνη, ένα σεμπίλι. Καθώς, μάλιστα, η ευρύτερη περιοχή ήταν μουσουλμανική συνοικία, γύρω από την κρήνη δημιουργήθηκαν καφενεία που, σε συνδυασμό με το παρακείμενο Βαλιδέ Τζαμί, αποτελούσαν χώρο συγκέντρωσης των πιστών, ειδικά την περίοδο της γιορτής του Ραμαζανιού. Το μικρό στρογγυλό κτήριο, περιβαλλόταν από ημικυκλικά παράθυρα, κάτω από τα οποία υπήρχαν αντίστοιχες βρύσες, ενώ ψηλά στη μία πλευρά του, μια επιγραφή στην παλιά τουρκική γραφή, επισημαίνει ότι «το νερό είναι η πηγή των πάντων».   
add
anchor to top image